America’s Cup winners

by | 8, Jan 2024 | America's Cup, Artículos

The America’s Cup: A Storied History of Champion Teams

The America’s Cup, often referred to as the “Auld Mug,” is one of the most prestigious and historic events in the world of sailing. Since its inception in 1851, this regatta has witnessed numerous teams from around the world vying for the honor of lifting the coveted trophy. Each victory has marked a remarkable achievement, blending innovation, skill, and tradition. Let’s take a closer look at some of the most iconic America’s Cup winners throughout its illustrious history.

1. The New York Yacht Club (USA) – 1851-1983

The America’s Cup, the oldest trophy in international sports, began when the schooner “America,” representing the New York Yacht Club, triumphed against a fleet of British vessels in 1851. The New York Yacht Club went on to hold the Cup for 132 years, marking the longest winning streak in the history of the competition. Their dominance was finally broken in 1983 by Australia II, helmed by John Bertrand, in a historic moment that shook the sailing world.

2. Royal Perth Yacht Club (Australia) – 1983

In that historic 1983 victory, Australia II, representing the Royal Perth Yacht Club, secured the first successful challenge against the New York Yacht Club. The team’s innovative winged keel design, colloquially known as “the secret weapon,” played a pivotal role in breaking the New York Yacht Club’s stranglehold on the Cup. It was a momentous achievement for Australian sailing and a testament to the power of innovation in the sport.

3. Team New Zealand (New Zealand) – Multiple Wins: Team New Zealand has been a dominant force in America’s Cup history. Their victories in 1995, 2000, and 2017 showcased their sailing prowess and design innovation. Their relentless pursuit of excellence and a formidable combination of talent and technology has made them a major player in the modern era of the competition.

4. Alinghi (Switzerland) – 2003 and 2007

Representing Switzerland’s Société Nautique de Genève, Alinghi emerged as a dominant force in the 2000s. Under the leadership of Ernesto Bertarelli, Alinghi secured back-to-back victories in 2003 and 2007. Their performance demonstrated that the America’s Cup was not limited to traditional sailing powerhouses.

5. Oracle Team USA (USA) – 2010 and 2013

Oracle Team USA, under the stewardship of Larry Ellison, staged an incredible comeback in the 2013 America’s Cup, securing a thrilling victory against Emirates Team New Zealand. Their innovative use of hydrofoils and impressive racing strategies showcased the evolving nature of the sport.

Discover the winners of the America’s Cup 2024 with Sondevela

These are just a few of the many champion teams that have left an indelible mark on the America’s Cup’s rich history. The competition continues to evolve, with new contenders, advanced technology, and remarkable feats of seamanship. As the legacy of the America’s Cup endures, the next generation of sailors and engineers looks to add their names to the annals of sailing history, striving to earn the right to hoist the iconic Auld Mug. If you want to know who will be the winners of the America’s Cup 2024, contact us.